Established in 1984, the American Legion Auxiliary’s Woman of the Year Award recognized outstanding women who exemplified the values and ideals of the American Legion Auxiliary, particularly those whose contributions advanced the quality of life for America’s military, veterans, and their families. The final Woman of the Year Award was presented at the Auxiliary’s 2019 National Convention.

Past Recipients

YearRecipientTitle/Organization/AccomplishmentALA National President
2019Marsha Four, Patricia Harris, and Leslie Lightfoot,Marsha Four, Vietnam Veterans of America
Patricia Harris, Women Veterans Support Service
Leslie Lightfoot, Veteran Homestead Inc
Kathy Dungan
2018Elizabeth MackeyNational Veterans Creative Arts FestivalDiane Duscheck
2017Cameron Cruse and Lisa Bradleyfounders of R. RiveterMary Davis
2016U.S. Army Maj. Gen. Peggy C. Combs2-star general and Chief of Staff, NORAD/USNORTHCOMSharon Conatser
2015Nesse GodinHolocaust survivor and educatorJanet Jefford
2014Lt. General Michelle Johnson3-star general and Superintendent of the U.S. Air Force AcademyNancy Brown-Park
2013Patricia “Patty” ShinsekiMilitary wife and advocatePeggy Thomas
2012Linda WieckQuilt-maker, military mother-in-law, and American Legion Auxiliary memberKris Nelson
2011Melissa SeligmanCo-authored “Simply Green” with her husband and is the co-author of “A Heart Apart,” an interactive book for military children.Carlene Ashworth
2010The Honorable L. Tammy DuckworthAssistant Secretary of the Department of Veterans AffairsRita Navarreté
2009Lori StevensPatriot PAWSDesireé Stoy
2008Tara CrooksMilitary Lifestyle Writer & Talk Radio HostJan Pulvermacher-Ryan
2007Gale S. PollockDeputy Surgeon General for Force Management, U.S. ArmyJoAnn Cronin
2006Condelezza RiceSecretary of StateCarol Van Kirk
2005Barabra Mandrell*Country Music ArtistSandi Dutton
2004Audrey FisherFisher House AmbassadorKatherine Morris
2003Chely WrightCountry Music ArtistElsie Bailey
2002Kathryn KoobForeign Service OfficerSherry McLaughlin
2001Laura BushFirst LadyKristine West
2000Kay YowNorth Carolina State Women's Basketball CoachElizabeth Stewart
1999Christine GregoireFirst Female Attorney GeneralVirginia Hobbs
1998Elizabeth B. WalkerWriter of Barefoot in the RubbleBarbara Kranig
1997Kathleen Kennedy TownsendLieutenant Governor of MarylandPhyllis Bachman
1996Corinne "Lindy" Claiborne BoggsFormer U.S. Representative of LouisianaSyble Deshotel
1995Christine Todd WhitmanGovernor of New JerseyLinda Newsome
1994Beverly BaronDrug Abuse PreventionHelen Holcomb
1993Patricia HangesChild AdvocateLinda Boone
1992Kathryn C. ThorntonAstronautMargaret Yankovich
1991Humorist & AuthorMinisterRuby Paul
1990Marilyn QuayleWife of Vice President Dan QuayleBetty Calder
1989Margaret AdamsSenior Editor, Good Housekeeping MagazineAlice Galka
1988Susan SullivanActressPearl Behrend
1987Elizabeth Hanford DoleU.S. Secretary of TransportationEvelyn Starr
1986Marge SchottOwner, Cincinnati Reds baseball teamJosie Melgard
1985Paula HawkinsUS Senator from FloridaHelen Gardner
1984Ensign Kristine HoldereidFirst woman Midshipman to graduate at the top of her class at the U.S. Naval AcademyAnna Gear

*Given as the "Lifetime Achievement Award"